Need help with aerobic fitness and race pace
View previous topic :: View next topic  
giantAstax

PostPosted: Tue Oct 01, 2013 5:25 pm    Post subject: Need help with aerobic fitness and race pace Reply with quote

I've been training pretty hard for the past 30 months, shed over 70 lbs in weight and this past 4 months have been training hard 6 to 8 hours per week in readiness for the race season. Initially I worked with a PT instructor at the gym who helped me lose the weight but I now know I have working way too hard and aerobically 90% of the time and my aerobic base is poor, despite my high level of anaerobic fitness. If I was a sprinter, I'd be OK but as an endurance athlete, I'm kind bugg@d.

So here's the rub....... even though my recovery is very fast and my RHR very low at 40 bpm, all my fitness is anaerobic and my HR rushes up to 80% MHR or higher very quickly as soon as I start to push on or climb.

I can average 90% MHR for 45 or 50 minutes in spin classes or when racing (see below) but consequently my race pace is slow as I am red-lining after just a few minutes when racing. Here is a screenshot from my CX race on sunday. Average pace, HR and speed, even cadence are pretty stable each lap during the 50 min race but as I said earlier, my pace is too slow.

I've switched all my training to MAF HR levels (which is 67% to 73% MHR) as I've been advised by one of the trainers at my local club I have a sever anaerobic/aerobic fitness imbalance and the only way to counter this is to basically slow down, keep my HR in the MAF zone and wait as my pave gradually increases over the next few months.

OK, but I have 11 more races before the end of the year and I'd really like NOT to be hanging around at the back of the field for the whole season.

Anyone else had similar issues? Has anyone found a way of 'boosting' aerobic fitness that works in the short term? I still have about 28 lbs to lose so maybe I should just switch to weigh-loss at the expense of fitness?