Newbie - Fork advice
View previous topic :: View next topic  
turner

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2009 10:40 pm    Post subject: Newbie - Fork advice Reply with quote

Hi all, I'm quite new to the mountain biking scene and have only recently taken a major interest in the sport/hobby. I own a Mongoose Rockadile ALX, yeah I know, quite a low spec bike compared to some that you lot own!
However, I didn't buy the bike for mountain biking, it was just something cheap I found that seemed decent enough for getting me from A to B with a little off road excursions along the way. Last weekend I went to Afan Forest Park just to have a nose around, following the Penhydd trail, (not sure if any of you are familiar with the area) and really enjoyed the experience!
Anyway, I noticed that my front suspension whilst fine on surfaces I had been riding previously, seemed really rough along these single track routes. I was thinking of upgrading the forks to something like rockshox dart2/3's (currently SR suntours m2025) as I don't really want to go through selling the bike as its quite new plus I'm a student on a limited budget so would struggle to pay for a better end bike!

I'm aiming to spend around the 100-120 max mark. What would you guys recommend?

Thanks for reading!

Register & log in to remove these advertisements!
MartinK

PostPosted: Wed Jan 28, 2009 2:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

turner...

it depends what forks you have? If you have coil/oil forks, you may find that a good service will get them working at their best again for a few . However if you have "elastomer" forks, dump them and buy some ~100 forks in the sale and you'll transform the front end... If you swap the forks, you'll probably find the headset's past it's best as well, so add 20 budget for a new cartridge headset...

Don't be tempted to buy longer travel tho...you'll upset the geometry and slow-down the steering...

turner

PostPosted: Wed Jan 28, 2009 6:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote